Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Abkhazia and South Ossetia file application to join CSTO

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is made up of the following countries: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan.
The CSTO charter affirms the desire of all participating states to abstain from the use or threat of force. Signatories would not be able to join other military alliances or other groups of states, while aggression against one signatory would be perceived as an aggression against all.

Abkhazia and South Ossetia intend to apply for membership to the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO). This statement was made today by the President of Abkhazia, Sergei Bagapsh, and reluctantly reported by some russian news agencies.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home